Page 1 of 2

Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 8. May 2013 18:36
by Knobblywobbly
Your Portal Version: 2.0
Your phpBB Type: Standard phpBB3
MODs installed: No
Your knowledge: Beginner

What have you done before the problem was there?


What have you already tryed to solve the problem?


Description and Message
Is it possible to have more than one copy of the same module on the portal? I would like to have more than 1 copy of the "Links" module so I can have a different type of link in each copy.

Thanks

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 8. May 2013 20:10
by Kirk
Hi
All you need is a second link module, a second module I had created some time ago.
You can download it here: Portal Link Menü

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 8. May 2013 20:56
by Knobblywobbly
Hi,
I've installed your module but it doesn't appear in the drop-down lists to enable me to select it.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 9. May 2013 11:45
by Kirk
This module is only for right or left, you need to add the right or left this module.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 9. May 2013 20:15
by Knobblywobbly
It doesn't appear anywhere, left or right.

I even copied the files manually as I use the rock n' roll style, but it still doesn't appear available.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 9. May 2013 21:33
by Kirk
Do you also have the template files in root/styles/rock 'n roll/template/portal/modules uploaded?
Give me a link to your forum

Edit:
I have found the error.
Jump to: root/language/en/mods/portal_link_menu_module.php
Find:

Code: Select all

'M_MENU' => 'menu',
Replace with:

Code: Select all

'M_LINK_MENU' => 'Link Menu'
Upload this file back to the directory
root/language/en/mods/portal_link_menu_module.php

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 19:05
by Knobblywobbly
Thank you. I've done the change as you suggested, but now when I try and add a module I get this:

[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/adm/index.php on line 150: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/language/en/mods/portal/portal_link_menu_module.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/adm/index.php on line 152: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/language/en/mods/portal/portal_link_menu_module.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/adm/index.php on line 153: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/language/en/mods/portal/portal_link_menu_module.php:1)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/adm/index.php on line 154: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/language/en/mods/portal/portal_link_menu_module.php:1)

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 21:05
by Kirk
Have you saved it in the correct encoding?
UTF-8 without BOM
https://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/phpbb3 ... thout-bom/

Copy this file and save it under the name portal_link_menu_module.php
Upload this file to root/language/en/mods/portal

Code: Select all

<?php
/**
*
* @package Board3 Portal v2 - Portal Link Menu
* @copyright (c) Board3 Group ( www.board3.de )
* @copyright (c) 2011 Kirk http://www.quad-atv-freunde-wunsiedel.de/ 
* @license http://opensource.org/licenses/gpl-license.php GNU Public License
*
*/

/**
* DO NOT CHANGE
*/
if (!defined('IN_PHPBB'))
{
    exit;
}

if (empty($lang) || !is_array($lang))
{
    $lang = array();
}

// DEVELOPERS PLEASE NOTE
//
// All language files should use UTF-8 as their encoding and the files must not contain a BOM.
//
// Placeholders can now contain order information, e.g. instead of
// 'Page %s of %s' you can (and should) write 'Page %1$s of %2$s', this allows
// translators to re-order the output of data while ensuring it remains correct
//
// You do not need this where single placeholders are used, e.g. 'Message %d' is fine
// equally where a string contains only two placeholders which are used to wrap text
// in a url you again do not need to specify an order e.g., 'Click %sHERE%s' is fine
$lang = array_merge($lang, array(
    'M_LINK_MENU' => 'Link Menu'
    'M_CONTENT'    => 'Content',
    'M_ACP'        => 'ACP',
    'M_HELP'    => 'Help',
    'M_BBCODE'    => 'BBCode FAQ',
    'M_TERMS'    => 'Terms of use',
    'M_PRV'        => 'Privacy policy',
    'M_SEARCH'    => 'Search',
    'MENU_NO_LINKS'    => 'No links', 
    
    // ACP
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU'                => 'Menu settings',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_LINK_SETTINGS'    => 'Link Settings',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_EXP'            => 'Manage your main menu',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_MANAGE'        => 'Manage menu',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_MANAGE_EXP'    => 'You can manage the links of your main menu here.',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_CAT'            => 'Category',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_IS_CAT'        => 'Set as special link category',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_INT'            => 'Internal link',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_EXT'            => 'External link',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_TITLE'            => 'Title',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_URL'            => 'Link URL',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_ADD'            => 'Add new navigation link',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_TYPE'            => 'Link type',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_TYPE_EXP'        => 'If you have a link to a page of your board, choose "Internal link" in order to prevent unwanted logouts.',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_CREATE_CAT'    => 'You need to create a category first.',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_URL_EXP'        => 'External links:<br />All links should be entered with a http://<br /><br />Internal links:<br />Only enter the php file as link url, i.e. index.php?style=4.',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_PERMISSION'    => 'Link permissions',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_PERMISSION_EXP'=> 'Select the groups that should be authorized to view the link. If you want all users to be able to view the link, don’t select anything.<br />Select/Deselect multiple groups by holding <samp>CTRL</samp> and clicking.',
    'ACP_PORTAL_MENU_EXT_NEW_WINDOW'=> 'Open external links in a new window',
));
 
Make sure that before the <?php is no space!

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 21:32
by Knobblywobbly
Thanks Kirk,

Shouldn't it be uploaded to root/language/en/mods/portal/ ?

I've used Notepad++ and saved it without BOM. I've uploaded it, but now when I try to add a module all I get is a completely empty screen.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 21:41
by Kirk
Knobblywobbly wrote:Shouldn't it be uploaded to root/language/en/mods/portal/ ?
Thanks have it changed
Knobblywobbly wrote:I've used Notepad++ and saved it without BOM. I've uploaded it, but now when I try to add a module all I get is a completely empty screen.
Download the entire module again down, I changed the language file.
http://www.quad-atv-freunde-wunsiedel.d ... 5243#p5243

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 21:48
by Knobblywobbly
When I try to upload I get:

"The module you are trying to upload seems to be corrupted."

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 21:54
by Kirk
Before you load the module again high, delete the old files.
You can also just upload the language file via FTP.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 22:04
by Knobblywobbly
Kirk wrote:Before you load the module again high, delete the old files.
You can also just upload the language file via FTP.
I uploaded the language file - still get empty screen.

I remove the old files and tried to upload the module - still get the message about the module being corrupt.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 22:10
by Kirk
I sorry because an error in it, please dowload the file again.

Re: Multiple copies of the same module

Posted: 10. May 2013 22:21
by Knobblywobbly
Ok, I can now upload the file but when I select "add module" I still get a blank screen.