KB Archiv EN: Board3 Portal 1.0.x - Customizing

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

KB Archiv EN: Board3 Portal 1.0.x - Customizing

Post by Kevin »

How to ... Redirect to the portal after login / logout

open ucp.php

Redirect to the portal after login

search:

Code: Select all

    case 'login':
        if ($user->data['is_registered'])
        {
            redirect(append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx"));
        }

        login_box(request_var('redirect', "index.$phpEx"));
    break;   
replace with:

Code: Select all

    case 'login':
        if ($user->data['is_registered'])
        {
            redirect(append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx"));
        }

        login_box(request_var('redirect', "portal.$phpEx"));
    break;   

Redirect to the portal after logout

search:

Code: Select all

    case 'logout':
        if ($user->data['user_id'] != ANONYMOUS && isset($_GET['sid']) && !is_array($_GET['sid']) && $_GET['sid'] === $user->session_id)
        {
            $user->session_kill();
            $user->session_begin();
            $message = $user->lang['LOGOUT_REDIRECT'];
        }
        else
        {
            $message = ($user->data['user_id'] == ANONYMOUS) ? $user->lang['LOGOUT_REDIRECT'] : $user->lang['LOGOUT_FAILED'];
        }
        meta_refresh(3, append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx"));

        $message = $message . '<br /><br />' . sprintf($user->lang['RETURN_INDEX'], '<a href="' . append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}index.$phpEx") . '">', '</a> ');
        trigger_error($message);

    break;   
replace with:

Code: Select all

    case 'logout':
        if ($user->data['user_id'] != ANONYMOUS && isset($_GET['sid']) && !is_array($_GET['sid']) && $_GET['sid'] === $user->session_id)
        {
            $user->session_kill();
            $user->session_begin();
            $message = $user->lang['LOGOUT_REDIRECT'];
        }
        else
        {
            $message = ($user->data['user_id'] == ANONYMOUS) ? $user->lang['LOGOUT_REDIRECT'] : $user->lang['LOGOUT_FAILED'];
        }
        meta_refresh(3, append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx"));

        $message = $message . '<br /><br />' . sprintf($user->lang['RETURN_INDEX'], '<a href="' . append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx") . '">', '</a> ');
        trigger_error($message);

    break;   

Change text "Return to the index page" to "Return to the portal page"

open root\language\en\common.php
search:

Code: Select all

'RETURN_INDEX'                => '%sReturn to the index page%s',  
replace with:

Code: Select all

'RETURN_INDEX'                => '%sReturn to the portal page%s',  

Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=10]Knowledge Base: How to ... Redirect to the portal after login / logout[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Moving portal.php outside of your forums directory

Post by Kevin »

How to move portal.php outside of the forums directory.
e.g from http://www.mysite.com/forums/portal.php to http://www.mysite.com/portal.php.

This guide assumes your forums are located at /forums/ if yours is different please replace all instances of it in the code below.

Move /forums/portal.php to /portal.php.

Create or edit /.htaccess and add:

Code: Select all

DirectoryIndex portal.php index.php index.html index.htm
Edit /forums/.htaccess
REMOVE

Code: Select all

DirectoryIndex portal.php index.php index.html index.htm
Open /portal.php
Find

Code: Select all

$phpbb_root_path = (defined('PHPBB_ROOT_PATH')) ? PHPBB_ROOT_PATH : './';   
Replace with

Code: Select all

$phpbb_root_path = (defined('PHPBB_ROOT_PATH')) ? PHPBB_ROOT_PATH : './forums/';   
Open /forums/includes/functions.php
Find

Code: Select all

'U_PORTAL'                => (isset($portal_config['portal_enable']) && $portal_config['portal_enable'] == true) ? append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx") : '',  
Replace with

Code: Select all

        'U_PORTAL'            => (isset($portal_config['portal_enable']) && $portal_config['portal_enable'] == true) ? append_sid("../portal.$phpEx") : '',   

Open /forums/portal/block/news.php
Find

Code: Select all

{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx
Replace with

Code: Select all

portal.$phpEx
Please note: you have to find & replace this code several times!
Do the same for:
  • /forums/portal/block/announcements.php
  • /forums/portal/block/change_style.php
  • /forums/portal/block/login_box.php
  • /forums/portal/block/minical.php
That should be it.


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=2]Knowledge Base: Moving portal.php outside of your forums directory[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Moving blocks / change order

Post by Kevin »

First: this tutorial is similar for subsilver2.
  • Which files have to be edited?
    The files where the position and order of the blocks are defined, are:
    root\styles\prosilver\template\portal\portal_left.html
    root\styles\prosilver\template\portal\portal_center.html
    root\styles\prosilver\template\portal\portal_right.html
  • How do i know what file represents the right, center and left column?
    The name after portal_ tells you which column the HTML file holds.
    I.e. portal_left.html contains the code for the left column while portal_center.html contains the code of the center column.
  • What code does belong to one block?
    The code belonging to the blocks is seperated by empty lines. In every case at least one IF and ENDIF statement belongs to each block.
    For example: This is how the codeblock for the poll block looks like:

    Code: Select all

            <!-- IF S_DISPLAY_POLL -->
                <!-- INCLUDE portal/block/poll.html -->
            <!-- ENDIF -->  
    There could be more than one IF / ENDIF statement, e.g. like in the announcements:

    Code: Select all

            <!-- IF S_DISPLAY_ANNOUNCEMENTS -->
            <!-- IF S_ANNOUNCE_COMPACT -->
                <!-- INCLUDE portal/block/announcements_compact.html -->
            <!-- ELSE -->
                <!-- INCLUDE portal/block/announcements.html -->
            <!-- ENDIF -->
            <!-- ENDIF -->  
  • How do i move a block?
    You have to search for the belonging code, (including the IF and ENDIF statements!), cut & paste at the position you want the block to move to.
    The block have to be pasted in every case after a <!-- ENDIF --> statement.
    Tip: the number of IF and ENDIF statements have to be the same. Counting could help.

    In 1.0.5 we modified portal.php in order to prevent excessive queries if one column is turned off. If you are moving a block from one side column to the other one (e.g. from left to right), you also have to move that block in portal.php. I will show you an example of how to do it. We will be moving the top poster block from the left to the right column:
    Open portal.php
    Once you opened the file, you can find the code for the blocks in the left column inside the IF-statement below this comment:

    Code: Select all

    // load blocks in the left column
    The code of the right column is inside the IF-statement below this comment:

    Code: Select all

    // load blocks in the right column
    Each block is included like this:

    Code: Select all

    	if ($portal_config['portal_top_posters'])
    	{
    		include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/block/top_posters.' . $phpEx);
    	}
    Below and on top of the include, there is a white space.

    If you would move the top poster block from the left to the right column, you would have to cut this code:

    Code: Select all

    	if ($portal_config['portal_top_posters'])
    	{
    		include($phpbb_root_path . 'portal/block/top_posters.' . $phpEx);
    	}
    And paste it inside the IF-Statement for the right column, e.g. right after this:

    Code: Select all

    // load blocks in the right column
    if($portal_config['portal_right_column'])
    {
    	$template->assign_var('S_RIGHT_COLUMN', true);
Another Tip: it's not recommended to move blocks from the side to the center column and other way round. Because the styling of the center blocks is different to the ones on the side.

In the end save and upload the edited files and purge the cache. Maybe recompile the template.


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=11]Knowledge Base: Moving blocks / change order[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Customising the PayPal Options

Post by Kevin »

In a few easy steps you can change and choose which options and currencies your users can donate to you.

First open the following file:
styles/yourstyle/templates/portal/block/donations.php

FIND ->

Code: Select all

                      <option value="EUR" selected="selected">{L_EUR}</option>
Now remove every currencies you don't want to have, for example, the US Dollars as an example:

Code: Select all

                      <option value="USD">{L_USD}</option>
Once you have removed the correct currencies, save your changes, upload your changed file and then
do the following steps:

Admin CP >> Styles >> Templates >> (your style) >> Refresh.

Then go and have a look at your PayPal options and then you should only have the currencies you want on there! :)

Hope you like the guide, enjoy... oh and also:
You do not need to change the language file in order to remove the options, just change the donation.php file.

By Dan, Credits go to Kevin for telling me how to do this :)
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Changes to forums styles

Post by Kevin »

This should help if you're receiving problems after changes to the styles system:

Changes to the templates:
Go to your ACP, choose "Styles -> Templates -> your style", which has been changed and click "refresh" - confirm with "yes".

Changes to the themes:
Go to your ACP, choose "Styles -> Themes -> your style", which has been changed and click "refresh" - confirm with "yes".

Changes to the Imagesets:
Go to your ACP, choose "Styles -> Imagesets -> -> your style", which has been changed and click "refresh" - confirm with "yes".

In the end "ACP -> General" --> purge cache

It's recommended to purge your browser cache too.

Now all your changes should appear properly on your site.


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=28]Knowledge Base: Changes to forums styles[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

How to ... add your own menu items

Post by Kevin »

Many users intend to add their own menu items to the portal menu (left column, top).

In this FAQ we talk about 3 kinds of links:

1. Internal forum links to functions already defined (already installed MODs etc.)
2. Internal forum links to functions which are not yet defined
3. External links to other websites

1. Instructions to add a link to the Arcade-MOD (Internal forum link):

Open

root/styles/*your_style*/template/portal/block/main_menu.html

Find

Code: Select all

    <li><a href="{U_INDEX}">{L_INDEX}</a></li>   
Add after (or whereelse you want to place the link)

Code: Select all

    <li><a href="{U_ARCADE}">{L_ARCADE}</a></li>   
Save, upload, purge cache, that's it.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

2. Instructions to add a link to a function which is not yet defined (maybe your own php-file ...):

Open

root/styles/*your_style*/template/portal/block/main_menu.html

Find

Code: Select all

    <li><a href="{U_INDEX}">{L_INDEX}</a></li>   
Add after (or whereelse you want to place the link)

Code: Select all

    <li><a href="{U_MY_LINK}">{L_MY_LINK}</a></li>   
]

Open

root/includes/functions.php

Find

Code: Select all

    'U_PORTAL'         => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}portal.$phpEx"),     
Add after

Code: Select all

    'U_MY_LINK'         => append_sid("{$phpbb_root_path}my_link.$phpEx"),     
Open

root/language/en/mods/lang_portal.php (Example when your're using english lang files)

Find

Code: Select all

    'M_SEARCH'                        => 'Search',     
Add after

Code: Select all

    'MY_LINK'                        => 'My link',     
U_MY_LINK und L_MY_LINK may now be used in all templates.

Save, upload, purge cache, that's it.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

3. Instructions to add an external link (to another website):

Open

root/styles/*your_style*/templates/portal/block/main_menu.html

Find

Code: Select all

    <li><a href="{U_MEMBERLIST}">{L_MEMBERLIST}</a></li>   
Add before (or whereelse you want to place the link)

Code: Select all

<li><a href="http://www.domain.de/" title="Mein Internet-Link">Mein Internet-Link</a></li>   
If you want to have the link opened in a new browser window or -tab, please write

Code: Select all

<li><a href="http://www.domain.de/" title="My Internet-Link" onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;">My Internet-Link</a></li>   
This code is then according to XHTML 1.0 STRICT, but it works with activated JavaScript only.

Instead of

Code: Select all

onclick="window.open(this.href); return false;"
you could write

Code: Select all

Target="_blank"
but this is not valid to XHTML 1.0 STRICT anymore.

Save, upload, purge cache, that's it.


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=16]Knowledge Base: How to ... add your own menu items[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Where do I get the Forum-ID from?

Post by Kevin »

In some blocks of Board3 Portal the forums/topics/postings to be displayed are selected by their ID.

The question is now, where to find this ID ...

The Forum-ID is a digit which is used by the database to identify the forum. Board3 Portal is using this digit to display (or not) particular forums (i.e. in "Global Announcements").

It's as simple as this:

In Portal- or Index-view point your mouse on the title of the forum of which you want to find out the ID.

In the statusbar of your browser appears a line like this:

Code: Select all

http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=100
The digits behind the "f" is the ID of the forum ("100")

A status line like

Code: Select all

http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=200
shows the topic-ID ("t=200")

and a status line like

Code: Select all

http://www.yourdomain.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=100&t=200&p=300
additionally shows the ID of the current posting ("p=300")

The forum ID (i.e. "100") may now be set in the ACP ("Portal-Settings") i.e for "Global Announcements". In case you want to specify more than one forum IDs, just enter them separated with commas (i.e. 1,2,3).


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=34]Knowledge Base: Where do I get the Forum-ID from?[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

_block_config.html: adapt blocks to your style

Post by Kevin »

New in Version 1.0.3 is a special Header/Content/Footer construction for the blocks which is quite similar to the one in the forum. This system allows individual customizing of your styles much easier and more convenient.

Before you start to customize your blocks be sure to understand how the system works:

In your /styles/YOUR_STYLE/template/portal/ folder you will find the _block_config.html file. It contains the block header and footer definitions.

The block frames are not HTML-coded anymore, they are defined with these variables instead.

In case you want to change the look of your blocks, you will not need to change all your blocks, just changing the definitions in _block_config.html will do the job.

You can even set seperate definitions for the left- and right-sided and the center blocks. Since there are styles where the outer blocks look different from the centered ones, you will find a seperate set of definitions for each.

If the outer blocks look the same like the centered you may set the same variables.

You will have to set 4 variables, 2 for the header and 2 for the footer.

The following graphics shows, what the variables stand for:

Image

As an example here are the variables for an outer block:

Code: Select all

<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_H_L = 'this defines the left half of the header, including the start of the formatting for the headline' -->
<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_H_R = 'this defines the right half of the header, including the end of the formatting for the headline' -->
<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_F_L = 'this defines the left half of the footer' -->
<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_F_R = 'this defines the right half of the footer' -->  
In the block you will use it like this:

Code: Select all

{$LR_BLOCK_H_L}<img src="Block_Bild"/>&nbsp;{Block_Title}{$LR_BLOCK_H_R}
        ....
       Block Contents
        ....
{$LR_BLOCK_F_L}{$LR_BLOCK_F_R}  
The variables are set up as follows:
$LR_BLOCK_H_L = Left and Right Block HeaderLeft
$C_BLOCK_F_R = Center Block FooterRight

etc. ...

That's it ... in theory ...

Here we go with a practical example to demonstrate how it works:

This is the source of a simple side block like it will be shown in the browser.

The red text is defined in your config file, the green is set in the block template:
<table>
<tr><td><span style="text-align: left">
Title</span></td></tr>
<tr><td>

<table>
<tr><td>Block Contents</td></tr>
</table>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
In this case the _block_config.html file will look like this:

Code: Select all

<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_H_L = '<table><tr><td><span style="text-align: left">' -->
<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_H_R = '</span></td></tr><tr><td>' -->
<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_F_L = '' -->
<!-- DEFINE $LR_BLOCK_F_R = '</td></tr></table><br />' -->    
... and the block template like this:

Code: Select all

{$LR_BLOCK_H_L}{L_HEADLINE}{$LR_BLOCK_H_R }
<table>
<tr><td>Block Contents</td></tr>
</table>
{$LR_BLOCK_F_L}{$LR_BLOCK_F_R }    
To avoid certain issues you will have to code your config file regarding the following:
  • Within one definition no line breaks are allowed.
    If you copy code from your blocks to your config file, remove all blanks between single tags so the entire definition is in one line.
  • Within one definition single quotes ( ' ) are not allowed. Please use doble quotes ( " ) instead.
  • Within one definition no variables are allowed.
    wrong: <img src="{T_THEME_PATH}/images/icon_01.png" width="47" height="41" alt="" />
    correct: <img src="./styles/YOUR_STYLE/theme/images/icon_01.png" width="47" height="41" alt="" />
  • After the end of the footer definition a line break must be inserted.
    To seperate the blocks horizontally please insert a <br /> tag after the last definition (footer right).
    <!-- DEFINE $*_BLOCK_F_R = '</td></tr></table><br />' -->
TIPPS:
  • If you use customized styles already, you should backup your block templates prior to updating to version 1.0.3. This allows to use them as a reference to build your config file.
  • You may define individual variables in your _block_config.html which can be used in all your blocks.

Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=45]Knowledge Base: _block_config.html: adapt blocks to your style[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Change default currency in PayPal block

Post by Kevin »

Open root/styles/prosilver/template/portal/block/donation.html

search:

Code: Select all

<option value="EUR" selected="selected">{L_EUR}</option>  
replace with:

Code: Select all

<option value="EUR">{L_EUR}</option>  
Now let's say you want to change the default currency to US Dollar.
Search for:

Code: Select all

<option value="USD">{L_USD}</option>  
Now add the selected="selected" code to your currency.
The USD example would look like this:

Code: Select all

<option value="USD" selected="selected">{L_USD}</option>  
The same have to be done in the donation_small.html block template. The changes to subsilver2 styles are similar.

That's all folks. Don't forget to purge the cache. ;)


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=42]Knowledge Base: Change default currency in PayPal block[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

How to ... edit portal.css

Post by Kevin »

Hello,

marc already wrote a good instruction for this. I put it into this FAQ to save users searching efforts ...

portal.css only affects prosilver based styles and - concerning colours - the main- and user-menu. According to the colours in the original style these are subject to be changed.

Here the instructions, altered a bit:

In order to have a menu that fits your style you will have to modify the files in
/styles/*your_style*/theme/images/portal/ and the background-colours in portal.css.

Example:

For the main-menu copy bg_menu.gif from /styles/*your_style*/theme/images to
/styles/*your_style*/theme/images/portal/.

Then delete bg_portalmenu.gif in /styles/*your_style*/theme/images/portal/ and rename the just copied bg_menu.gif to bg_portalmenu.gif.

Open it with your picture processor (Photoshop, GIMP, PaintShop ...) mirror it and save it as bg_portalmenu1.gif in /styles/*your_style*/theme/images/portal/.

After that change the following parts in portal.css to reflect the desired colours:

Code: Select all

.portal-navigation li a{
display: block;
padding: 3px 0;
padding-left: 9px;
width: auto; /*185px minus all left/right paddings and margins*/
text-decoration: none;
color: white;
background-color: #11A1E8;
background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/portal/bg_portalmenu.gif");
border-bottom: 1px solid #90bade;
border-left: 7px solid #6ACEFF;}
and

Code: Select all

.portal-navigation li a:hover {
background-color: #2586d7;
background-image: url("{T_THEME_PATH}/images/portal/bg_portalmenu1.gif");
border-left-color: #AA0000;}

Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=5]Knowledge Base: How to ... edit portal.css[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

Editing phpBB (language) files the right way

Post by Kevin »

phpBB 3.0.x language files are encoded as "UTF-8 without BOM" (BOM = "byte-order mark"). Since php-scripts can not deal with a BOM, they will put out an error-message concerning the "header information".

German authors will encounter the UTF-8-matter especially with German "Umlauts" (i.e. Ä, Ö, or Ü). If these are entered into a php-script just by typing the character via the keyboard, and the correct encoding is not set, the script won't run.

According to the phpBB 3.0.x coding-guidelines it is illegal, to use "html-entities" instead (i.e. "Ä" for "Ä" or "ö" for "ö".

The solution here is an editor, which provides the ability to encode the php-files correctly as "UTF-8 without BOM". Such an editor is for instance "Notepad++".

In an "UTF-8 without BOM"-ready editor - if the correct encoding is set - German "Umlauts" can be typed right from the keyboard.


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=25]Knowledge Base: Editing phpBB (language) files the right way[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

site_logo link to Portal

Post by Kevin »

prosilver:

Open: /styles/prosilver/template/overall_header.html

search:

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_INDEX}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>  
replace with:

Code: Select all

<a href="{U_PORTAL}" title="{L_INDEX}" id="logo">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a>  

subsilver2:

Open: /styles/subsilver2/template/overall_header.html

search:

Code: Select all

<td><a href="{U_INDEX}">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a></td>  
replace with:

Code: Select all

<td><a href="{U_PORTAL}">{SITE_LOGO_IMG}</a></td>  

Don't forget to purge the forums cache!


Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=36]Knowledge Base: site_logo link to Portal[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

User avatar

Topic author
Kevin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2892
Joined: 7. January 2006 21:11
phpBB.de User: Saint
phpBB.com User: Saint_hh
Location: Hamburg

How to ... change the clock

Post by Kevin »

To change the clock of your portal, go and google for "flash clock".

When you found a clock that you like, download the flash-file and copy it as /root/styles/*your_style*/theme/images/portal/board3clock.swf

Maybe you have to edit "width" and "height" in /root/styles/*your_style*/template/portal/block/clock.html

Do not forget to purge the cache in your ACP after uploading.


Download Link (save as)


Download Link (save as)



Quicklink:

Code: Select all

[url=http://www.board3.de/knowledge/kb_show.php?id=20]Knowledge Base: How to ... change the clock[/url]
~~~ They say the definition of madness is doing the same thing and expecting a different result ~~~

Kein Support per PN / No support via PM!

Return to “KB-Archiv”